Stop Sign Ahead..

What is it that stops us from getting our dreams and making them realities?

Why is it that some of us always underestimate ourselves?

Where is this fake stop sign I create for myself in my own path?

Why is it that the minute I accomplish something I am surprized that I got it and start thinking, “wow, I didn’t think I could ever get this far!”

Why is it that I think I am incapable of getting from “here” to “there”?

(The following is a wonderful response by Bushra…may Allah reward her)

SubhanAllah…deep questions…I want to try to answer them…

–What is it that stops us from getting our dreams and making them realities?…
…..Shaitaan’s whispers. He is our enemy CLEARLY, he would hate to see you or any other Muslim achieve your dreams. Think of him as a bully (enemy)…there is physical/verbal abuse that they talk about in school….

“You can’t do it, You can’t, You are too stupid and lazy” Doesn’t that sound like the verbal abuse they warn you about in school from bullies? He is your enemy, take him as your enemy. Block his whispers, follow your dreams fi sabeel Allah, and do everything you do with excellence…

–Why is it that some of us always underestimate ourselves?
….I would say again because Shaitaan whispers “you can never do this, you couldn’t do that, don’t kid yourself”…..also because you may not have seen enough times what you can do to estimate yourself correctly rather than underestimate. Set small goals and reach them, then go bigger scale… A believer-mu’men-should never underestimate his/herself…daleel from Islam? We are commanded to ask for the highest level in Jannah-alfirdous-and to ask for less on purpose is-wallahu aalam-a sin…Yet we know we are not ‘as good’ as the Prophet salla allahu allayhe wa salam and his companions….we know our shortcomings….But still we don’t underestimate ourselves and aim HIGH.

–Where is this fake stop sign I create for myself in my own path?
…Where is it? In your imagination…InshAllah in reality its all green lights for you…if you see a stop sign call your local city council (…make duaa!) to have them clean it up because it doesn’t belong there…

–Why is it that the minute I accomplish something I am surprized that I got it and start thinking, “wow, I didn’t think I could ever get this far!”
…Because you forgot about the barakah that Allah showers upon in the time of whomever he wishes…we live between many people who really DO need 4 or 5 hours to get a task done…set aside the same amount of time to do something and start with “bismAllah, oh Allah give me barakah in my time” and inshAllah you will continue to be surprised…You and the next person may both have 24 hours, but only one of you may have Iman and barakah….
Also, you can only be surprised if you didn’t expect it…So why didn’t you expect to get that far??? You CAN get that far, and farther…you are very capable mashAllah….

–Why is it that I think I am incapable of getting from “here” to “there”?
…..That would be a mix of all of the above. Rethink your here and there….is “there” a place that would please Allah? If so, make duaa HERE and inshAllah you are set to go there…but also think, are you doing your part for getting there? And don’t worry about how long it takes you to get there, just do your best until then and have patience. Just remember, the Prophet salla allahu allayhe wa salam’s “here” was less than 10 Muslims at first…its more than 1000 years after his death peace be upon him, and that number is STILL going “there”….
One last thing…you said the keyword…”think”….don’t let yourself even think it…you know you can, inshAllah..

of course all these replies are just my humble opinions…and tip of the iceberg for questions that could each be the theme of a workshop or seminar…but just thought I’d give a shout…

and as always,
Allahu taala aalam

4 Responses to Stop Sign Ahead..

  1. Bushra says:

    SubhanAllah…deep questions…I want to try to answer them…

    –What is it that stops us from getting our dreams and making them realities?…
    …..Shaitaan’s whispers. He is our enemy CLEARLY, he would hate to see you or any other Muslim achieve your dreams. Think of him as a bully (enemy)…there is physical/verbal abuse that they talk about in school….”You can’t do it, You can’t, You are too stupid and lazy” Doesn’t that sound like the verbal abuse they warn you about in school from bullies? He is your enemy, take him as your enemy. Block his whispers, follow your dreams fi sabeel Allah, and do everything you do with excellence…

    –Why is it that some of us always underestimate ourselves?
    ….I would say again because Shaitaan whispers “you can never do this, you couldn’t do that, don’t kid yourself”…..also because you may not have seen enough times what you can do to estimate yourself correctly rather than underestimate. Set small goals and reach them, then go bigger scale… A believer-mu’men-should never underestimate his/herself…daleel from Islam? We are commanded to ask for the highest level in Jannah-alfirdous-and to ask for less on purpose is-wallahu aalam-a sin…Yet we know we are not ‘as good’ as the Prophet salla allahu allayhe wa salam and his companions….we know our shortcomings….But still we don’t underestimate ourselves and aim HIGH.

    –Where is this fake stop sign I create for myself in my own path?
    …Where is it? In your imagination…InshAllah in reality its all green lights for you…if you see a stop sign call your local city council (…make duaa!) to have them clean it up because it doesn’t belong there…

    –Why is it that the minute I accomplish something I am surprized that I got it and start thinking, “wow, I didn’t think I could ever get this far!”
    …Because you forgot about the barakah that Allah showers upon in the time of whomever he wishes…we live between many people who really DO need 4 or 5 hours to get a task done…set aside the same amount of time to do something and start with “bismAllah, oh Allah give me barakah in my time” and inshAllah you will continue to be surprised…You and the next person may both have 24 hours, but only one of you may have Iman and barakah….
    Also, you can only be surprised if you didn’t expect it…So why didn’t you expect to get that far??? You CAN get that far, and farther…you are very capable mashAllah….

    –Why is it that I think I am incapable of getting from “here” to “there”?
    …..That would be a mix of all of the above. Rethink your here and there….is “there” a place that would please Allah? If so, make duaa HERE and inshAllah you are set to go there…but also think, are you doing your part for getting there? And don’t worry about how long it takes you to get there, just do your best until then and have patience. Just remember, the Prophet salla allahu allayhe wa salam’s “here” was less than 10 Muslims at first…its more than 1000 years after his death peace be upon him, and that number is STILL going “there”….
    One last thing…you said the keyword…”think”….don’t let yourself even think it…you know you can, inshAllah..

    of course all these replies are just my humble opinions…and tip of the iceberg for questions that could each be the theme of a workshop or seminar…but just thought I’d give a shout…

    and as always,
    Allahu taala aalam

  2. hiddensouls says:

    MashaAllah, you have finished writing the post for me 😀

    Jazakillahu khairan!!!!!!!

    I will Edit this post with what you have written 🙂

  3. Redwan Ahmed says:

    please leave a comment on http://www.fisabilillah12.wordpress.com

  4. Redwan Ahmed says:

    Salaams, hiddensouls

    I want good comments and long comments not and the comment you asked for. this is not a comment. write good comments please. thank you

    wassalam

Leave a Reply

