From my rear view mirror..

Driving to school today, as usual, tailgating my way through trucks, vans, some fancy and some not-so-fancy cars, my eyes suddenly shot up to the rear view mirror after hearing a bang so close behind me.

The car behind me was hit by the car behind it. A loud thud escaped and disturbed the usual chaos of the busy highway-like street. Any other person driving down the road for the first time might not have noticed the noise amongst the anarchist driving conditions. 

“It could have been me”; the phrase kept ringing around me.

We are given so many chances in life to correct ourselves and mend our ways and yet, how many of us actually use these golden opportunities? Our excuses hold us back. They trap us behind a shield sometimes so invincible it seems impossible to get through.

This morning, in my rear view mirror I saw the result of an excuse. Ahead of me was another chance. I gladly took it without a thought as I drove on…

to be continued inshaAllah..

8 Responses to From my rear view mirror..

  1. Umm Travis says:

    very interesting! Love ur writing!

  2. hiddensouls says:

    Jazakillahu khairan 🙂 InshaAllah I hope to finish it soon…

  3. MashAllah! I love the connections you draw between ordinary day-to-day events and what the future, and the opportunities waiting therein. ❤ it!! I look forward to the continuation….

  4. hiddensouls says:

    Jazakillahu khairan S&S..a lot of it was inspired by the Ilminar about excuses…inshaAllah I can finish it soon…

  5. A Sinful Slave says:

    “you don’t know what you have until its gone”…Words will never suffice to define the feeling I felt when I saw you Sunday…RIGHT AFTER reading this post!…

    Glad you’re part of ma life…=)

  6. hiddensouls says:

    :’) That’s so sweet of you jazakillahu khairan!

    I’m glad I got the chance to get to know you as well!!

    And yes, it’s so true, we don’t appreciate what we have till it’s too late…very unfortunate…

    Our biggest loss is TIME…we just don’t appreciate it enough!!

  7. Sarah says:

    “This morning, in my rear view mirror I saw the result of an excuse. Ahead of me was another chance. I gladly took it without a thought as I drove on…”

    Beautiful, mashaAllah, gave me shivers…

    Hmm, guess I should do my Eng essay now 😉

  8. hiddensouls says:

    🙂 you should! As should I!!! I have two essays to worry about..

Leave a Reply

