Of Bees, Honey, and lifelong friends…

Busy Bees

Busy Bees

“And your Lord taught the honey bee to build its cells in hills, on trees, and in (men’s) habitations; Then to eat of all the produce (of the earth), and find with skill the spacious paths of its Lord: there issues from within their bodies a drink of varying colours, wherein is healing for men: verily in this is a Sign for those who give thought.” (Surat an-Nahl (The Bee), 68-69)

I really wish I was a bee.
They know not to waste a second of time.
I’m sure they never have regrets when they sleep.
Never wonder if a day will come back on the day of judgment-
and be a day against them not for them.

I really wish I was a bee.
They make honey, the sweetest substance.
And all creatures love that honey and benefit from it.
I wish I could offer something to the world,
that is so useful and that is so loved.

I really wish I was a bee.
Visiting flowers every day…
Carrying pollen from one to another.
I wish I could appreciate beauty like they do.
They take what they need from the flower.
Nothing more, nothing less.

I really wish I was a bee.
They know so well the meaning of home.
They know the comfort of their honeycomb.
Nobody new comes, nobody ever goes.
They are all bees making honey, in that one honeycomb.

I really wish I was a bee.
For they have wings…
and they can fly.
Flying. Freedom. Independence. Yet they don’t rebel.
I don’t want wings so that I can rebel-
I just want to fly.

I wonder though,
Are bees loyal? Are they grateful?
I am.
Yes, I will be your friend forever.
Will you be my lifelong friend too?

Bees never forget a flower they visited.
They remember so well the sweet golden honey it makes.
And I will never forget the friendship we have.
Sweeter than honey it is…

One Response to Of Bees, Honey, and lifelong friends…

  1. hiddensouls says:

    This is just soo beautifully written!!
    I tried to delay writing a comment thinking maybe I can come up with some nice words…but alas, I gave up…it’s too sweet and honey like for me to find a proper rely to…

Leave a Reply

